ok. i feel like such a hyporcrite saying ill post every week and i havent posted for like 20 year. good news is, its almost summer vacation so ill have all the time in the world to work on it! heres the updates;
* got new floor pans in
* got a wiring harness for the electrical system
* getting the engine rebuilt
so thats whats been happening! i will definately try to post at least once a week when summer starts.
ps my soccer season went very well! got to score a goal on my first year playing woot woot! :)
Love Bug
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Monday, February 7, 2011
Day 14- I'm not dead! and happy 2 weeker


Hey guys! So so sorry i didn't post at all last week, I feel terrible. I had winter camp this weekend, and was pretty busy all week. But today, Austin and I made a lot of progress on the floor panel rust with some heavy-duty power tools. I also got a mini lecture from my dad about the car, fun stuff. So, yeah. That's what's happenin! Sorry again for not posting, I'll try to keep up. I will warn you now, I am starting soccer (woot woot!) so I might not have time to post every day, but I'll do my best! Happy Two Weeks!
Monday, January 31, 2011
Day 7- happy anniversery!


So, its been exactly one week, almost to the exact time from when I got the car. I went out at around 8pm tonight to work on it, so I was already in my PJ's. So I worked in them, of course, since I was too comfortable to change (and just too lazy). So on to what I actually accomplished. Basically all I did was vacuum, and yeah, scraped rust. But I do feel good, because I got 95% of the rust off of that panle thing which I still don't know the name of. So, yeah. Happy one week anniversery!
Day 6... and day 3 (oops)

Hey guys. So I just realized I accidentally skipped the actual day 3, so this post will account for both since neither day was really a big deal. So Day 3, basically Mango (my cat) and I just hung out in the car scraping rust. As you can imagine, he was very helpful. I'm making progress everyday on that rust!

As for Day 6 (which was actually yesterday, but im posting at 6 in the morning today because I didn't have time yesterday), I only got to go out for about 20 minutes and, you guessed it, scrape rust. So even though it was a short session, I got almost all the rust off of this one piece that goes in the passenger side. So there you go. Sorry for the Day confusion, but we are back on track!
Saturday, January 29, 2011
Day 4- SWAP MEET


So, today was a very long, interesting day. My dad and I got up at 7am, on this lovely Saturday morning to go to the annual SWAP MEET(I feel important when I say that). For those of you who are unfamiliar with this event, its basically a giant, GIANT flea market, but only for car stuff. It was quite overwhelming. Just a bit to much to take in in 7 hours. Yes, thats right. 7 HOURS. We stayed untill about 3pm. On the optomistic side, I did learn allot. For one, I learned that we got an AMAZING deal on this car! We met a guy with a 68 vert bug that did have all the parts, they were just... Lets just say not all assembled. He was selling that basket case for not to far off from what we paid for my almost-fully-restored one. I showed him a couple pics of my car, and he was ready to give me double for whatever we paid for it, but of course, I refused. So now I know we did pretty good with this thing. Surprisingly, through those 7 hours of walking in 40 degree weather, we didn't get a single thing that goes on my car. We did pick up a few tools, an orginal owners manual, and a complete service manual for knock-you-off-your-feet deals, and I learned allot. So even though we didn't get anything to actually "put the car together" I still learned allot, and it was definately worth it.
After all this, the minute we got home I of course went straight out to scrape more rust with some new tools we got, which was all worth it. So all in all, after this long and tiring day, I feel quite accomplished. Stay tuned for next weeks adevntures!
Thursday, January 27, 2011
Day 3- the rust project



Well, I basically went straight out to the shop today after school to start working on it, and I did nothing but clean. WOW! Austin says this thing will be done by the time i get my permit (in March, but I have a feeling the car's going to be done and ready to drive and I won't be able to drive it yet because there's still so much cleaning to be done! Yes, this cars' main problem I think is there's so much rust! That's ok though, that's my main job on this thing, so more for me to do. But the good news is that I got ALL the yucky carpet out and got it down to the metal in the back. Bad news is that I spent about an hour scraping rust off the floor in the front and only got about 5 sq inches of it off. So I quite aways to go with the rust. In all this I did discover something! The cars' original color was yellow, and then apparently was painted pink, and obviously again painted to its' current color, red.
Also, Austin got the gas tank all painted and done and put back in its place, which is nice. We discovered that the blinkers aren't working properly though, but that's and easy job. So even though it seems like the rust will never end, I think it will be easier than I think (fingers crossed). Anyways, thanks for tuning in and keep checking!
Wednesday, January 26, 2011
Day 2- ahead of our time?


So, we made some huge break throughs today. Although I wasn't there for the glory, my dad and Austin got the engine running, which is huge! We also were able to take the gas tank out and take a look, turns out it's pretty clean already, and won't need allot of work which is a huge relief. They say that we are weeks ahead of schedule! I'm really hoping that I can be there for the next major break through. So, for day 2, I think we are making some headway.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)